Transatlantic Race

RORC Transatlantik Race 13.12.2017


Atlantic Anniversary Regatta
incorporating the RORC Transatlantic Race

Calero Marinas – Marina Lanzarote, Arrecife, Canary Islands to Camper & Nicholsons Port Louis Marina, Grenada

RORC Transatlantic Race to Teasing Machine

Eric de Turckheim’s French Nivelt-Muratet 54 Teasing Machine was today declared the overall winner of the 2017 RORC Transatlantic Race. Whilst a number of the record 23 yacht fleet are still racing, none of them can better Teasing Machine’s corrected time under IRC. Teasing Machine is the smallest yacht to win the RORC Transatlantic Trophy, which has been previously won by yachts in the Maxi Class.

„To win the RORC Transatlantic Race is just fantastic,“ commented Eric de Turckheim. „It is not just a personal achievement to win my first ever Transatlantic Race, because it has been such a massive team effort. Teasing Machine was only taking part in her second offshore race, and to build a team to that performance level within four months has required a huge commitment from everyone, but especially Laurent Pages.“

Teasing Machine tactician Laurent Pages and navigator Jean-Luc Nelias form a formidable partnership. The Frenchmen took the same roles for skipper Franck Cammas winning the 2011-12 Volvo Ocean Race, and Nelias won this year’s Transat Jacques Vabre on Sodebo Ultim with Thomas Colville, smashing the race record.

RORC Chief Executive Eddie Warden Owen was very pleased with the result and the race. „It has been no easy task for the Teasing Machine team to win this race and they have been pushed hard by some very competitive boats. Eric and his team showed their determination and expertise setting a strong pace from day one and never let up. This race marks the start of the 2018 RORC season’s Points Championship and Teasing Machine has set the standard required for the rest of the fleet which has its eyes on this prestigious prize.“

The scheduled Prize Giving was held at Camper & Nicholsons Port Louis Marina. Teams were awarded prizes in the presence of the Minister for Tourism, Civil Aviation and Culture, Hon Dr Clarice Modeste-Curwen, Grenada Tourism Authority CEO Patricia Maher, and Nikoyan Roberts, Manager of Nautical Development for the GTA and the Secretary General of the International Maxi Class Association, RORC Admiral Andrew McIrvine.

Tilmar Hansen, skipper of Outsider was delighted to win the ORC Division overall. „This has been a very competitive race, and for our next race, the RORC Caribbean 600, we will need to put more fire in the oven. Teasing Machine will be there and our good friends and rivals Varuna will also be back.“


Overall Winner of the RORC Transatlantic Race winning the RORC Transatlantic Race Trophy and IRC Class 0 – Teasing Machine, Eric de Turckheim

Monohull Line Honours winning the IMA Transatlantic Trophy – CQS, Ludde Ingvall

Multihull Line Honours and MOCRA Multihull Winner – Zed 6, Gerald Bibot

Class40 Winner – Red, Mathias Mueller von Bluemencron

ORC Division Overall Winner – Outsider, Tilmar Hansen

ORCSy Division Winner – Sorceress, Will Apold

Follow the remainder of the fleet still racing:

YB Race Tracker:

Individual yachts, classes or the whole fleet can be tracked throughout the race